I Love Christian Music

I still love Christian music.  One of my all time favorites was “As the Deer” and I still get goose bumps when I sing it.  There are a lot of very beautiful Christian songs and that is one thing I miss about attending religious services.  You are free to read into that whatever you like, but keep in mind that there are also a lot of Jewish songs that move me deeply.  And frankly, songs like the following move me very deeply as well: Imagine (John Lennon), Oh Very Young (Cat Stevens in his days before converting to Islam), Peace Train (also Cat Stevens), and Cat’s in the Cradle (Harry Chapin).

Most of the time it’s the melodies that just end up hitting me in the right way, and sometimes it’s the message as well.  Cat’s in the Cradle has always hit me in both ways.  The message means quite a bit to me given that my relationship with my children and how I interact with them are very meaningful to me.

When I was a Christian I never got the impression that these kind of feelings that rose up inside of me were somehow proof of God’s existence, mainly because I was very aware of the fact that I was unable to distinguish between the feelings I got listening to Jewish, Christian or secular music.  I was a Christian for other reasons.  I do wonder however if there are Christians who do feel that this is another confirmation of their relationship with their God.  I also wouldn’t doubt that people of many different religions have these same types of confirmations of their relationship with their Gods.

I certainly can’t prove that these deep experiences in worship are not some function of one or more supernatural conscious entities that are interacting with humans.  Actually, I don’t understand why these beings can’t actually even be a part of our natural world.  Either way if they exist they seem to like to remain elusive and undetectable by the best objective methods that we have as humans.

2 thoughts on “I Love Christian Music

  1. I also have some religious songs that I still just plain love. I often feel like I shouldn’t when I hear them, but I can’t help myself. I grew up loving to sing Amazing Grace, Silent Night, and several country songs that might as well be considered religious. 🙂 However, I’m like you in that my enjoyment and happiness I get from these songs I also get from songs like The River (Garth Brooks), Ireland (Garth Brooks again), Stand (Rascal Flatts)…okay, I do like country a lot, but I also love Cat’s in the Cradle. Enya, while I can’t sing it, also gives me a similar feeling. Maybe there’s just something about being human that allows us to find meaning and joy in music. Sometimes I hate how I try to analyze even the simple stuff like my enjoyment of music.

  2. I think as well about how music is such a big part of our humanity, and as I’ve learned from blogging the past few weeks overanalyzing simple stuff is apparently a gift (or curse 😉 ) that I seem to have also.

Please leave a reply - I'm very interested in all respectful thoughts both disagreeing or agreeing

