Secular Humanism

In all of my previous posts I’ve focussed more on my methods and approach to finding out what is true in the realm of reality.  I’ve used some labels for myself such as implicit atheist, weak agnostic, and possibilian.  I haven’t yet mentioned a much more important description of myself which describes what I believe about morality and how to treat other humans.

I am a secular humanist.  This doesn’t mean I believe in every precept of the secular humanist movement, but since I don’t claim belief in any supernatural entities I fit into the secular category, and because I believe very strongly in treating every person as having inherent worth and dignity I fit perfectly into the humanist category.

I recently read “Good Without God” by Greg Epstein, and while I may lean more to the agnostic side in my openness to the supernatural or transcendant possibilities of reality, whatever differences I felt I had with his description of secular humanism was very minor.  His book is a good introduction to the subject for the layperson.  He didn’t dive deep into the epistemology of morality (although he did touch on it a little bit) and he did seem to go off on a few tangents, but otherwise I thought the book was a good intro.

The subject of morality is an essential one for a blog like mine and I think my next post will be the morality post (or series) that I have wanted to write for a while.  I’ve been procrastinating because I feel like I have only touched the surface of this very important topic, but I’m going to jump in because it is so important.

The importance of this cannot be underscored enough for me.  As I’ve described before, my doubts about the truth of Christianity grew as time went along and for maybe a year or more before I decided I could no longer call myself a believer anymore I was fighting very hard to push my doubts away.  While I’m sure there were a lot of factors for why I did that, I know very clearly of 2 – one was the feeling that if I left my belief I would no longer have my moral compass, and would in fact have no moral compass at all.  The other was a concern for the loss of meaning or purpose in life.

One just needs to peruse the blogosphere of Religious/Atheist dialogues (if it could be called dialogue 😉 ) for just a short time to see that these 2 things are very important big questions in humanity’s search for truth.

So not only do I have plans to post some of my ideas about morality I also plan in the future to post my ideas about meaning and purpose in life.

2 thoughts on “Secular Humanism

  1. I was just discussing this with my daughter–I suspect I am a possibilian after all. And likely a secular humanist. I will put that book on my wish list. Thanks.
    Cheers!

  2. Your welcome. Possibilian is a funny sounding word and recently invented, but when I came across a youtube video about it a couple of months ago I felt it lined up very closely with the way I think about these kinds of things.

Please leave a reply - I'm very interested in all respectful thoughts both disagreeing or agreeing

