2 Years of Blogging

2 years2 years ago today I wrote my first post on TruthIsElusive.  It was the first blog I ever owned, and I remember telling my wife my prediction that my blog wouldn’t last more than a month.  While I only write about 1 or 2 posts per month, this wasn’t where I thought I would be 2 years ago.  I never imagined having all the awesome conversations that I’ve had both on my blog as well as on the blogs that I read frequently.

I have given up on predicting how long I’ll be blogging.  There were a few times this year I thought I was going to wrap it up, but found that I still had an interest to keep it going.  I made an effort to re-organize my About Blog page in order to clear my head on the reasons I see to continue.  My main goal is to form proper conclusions about reality – and making this process public is a great way to refine that process by learning from others.  While it may seem to some like I’m just pontificating on my blog, I’m actually learning quite a bit through blogging.  I’ve especially appreciated all the great links I’ve gotten from so many to related material.  It should go without saying that corrections and differing viewpoints are always most welcomed on my blog, but if you’re gonna judge if I don’t see things your way then just keep in mind that I’m likely not going to learn much from you.

Thanks so much to all the people I’ve interacted with!  I’m looking forward to another great year!

30 thoughts on “2 Years of Blogging

  1. Happy anniversary, Howie. I’ve grown and learned a lot since I started blogging, Got a lot of “stuff” off my chest, too. But the best part is the community — meeting awesome people like you. I’m so glad our paths crossed. You’ve turned me on to some great material and videos. The best video ever was “How To Convert An Atheist” with Derren Brown. That was mind-blowing. What I appreciate the most about you, Howie, is your authenticity and open-mindedness. I hope you stick around for some time to come. 🙂

  2. Thanks a lot Victoria.

    Yeah, I was pretty amazed the first time I saw that video too.

    I’ve learned a whole bunch from all your information on brain research and it’s actually tied a few memories together that I have and plan on writing posts about sometime in the future. Looking forward to learning much more from you in the future!

  3. Happy bloggaversary, Howie! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and certainly have learned a lot here. Not only that but I genuinely enjoy your input and thoughts on other blogs as well. Like Victoria said, the community aspect of blogging has been the most surprising and delightful aspect of it. I love reading other people’s story. Thanks for hanging in there. I hope to be reading your blog for a long time. 😀

  4. Thank you so much Ruth. I’ve appreciated your knack for story telling as well as your ability to respond intelligently to unreasonable people. Hoping to read more from you as well!

  5. I like Ruth’s word, bloggaversary. Happy bloggaversary, Howie! I’ve appreciated your intellect and honesty in blogging on Truth is Elusive. And, your humor too. 🙂

  6. Thanks Brandon. I’ve enjoyed all the discussions we’ve had and learned a lot from them – you’ve read and thought long and hard about many of the deep issues of life and I’ve always appreciated your input.

  7. Thanks for sticking with it Howie. I appreciate your approach to these topics. The balance, objectivity and open-mindedness that you bring to the discussion is an exemplar of how it should be done.

  8. Was it really nearly two years ago that I came across your blog and those of a few of your friends! There had been some dramatic changes in my thinking in the previous 2 years but it would have been impossible to imagine how much more change there would be in the next two years!

    I’ve just been reading your latest posts and refreshing my memory of some of your journey. I’ve very recently finished updating my blog. I can relate to so much – and I want to read more of what Victoria is writing.

    Not sure how interesting the thoughts of an uneducated oldie might be!

  9. Thanks a lot Travis. Actually, as far as providing balance I’ve thought you tend to do that better than I do. I like how in some of your posts you’ve tried to come up with actual % numbers for how strong you think particular topics fit different worldviews – something that isn’t a very easy thing to do, but is worthwhile. By the way, I’ve read through your latest ontology posts and they are excellent – some heavy stuff. I’ve got some comments and questions I’ll add to those posts of yours, but need a little more time to organize my thoughts.

  10. Thanks John – I’ll take a bow, and join in applauding everyone who has commented on all my posts and helped me continue on. And I appreciate quite a bit some of the reading recommendations you’ve given me. I’m looking forward to reading “Why is There Anything?”, and will write a post about it when I’m done with it.

  11. Can’t wait to read your next post! I feel the same way about blogging. It’s a great way to communicate all those things that might be off-putting at a dinner party. Please, keep going!

  12. Well, on that note, I have a real cracker for you: Stones of Significance, by David Brin. It’s a $2 novella, 30-odd pages, and one of the best mind-blows i’ve ever read.

  13. Thanks Tina! That’s a perfect way to put it – it’s a very rare and strange occasion that the subjects I write on my blog come up at dinner parties.

  14. “it’s a very rare and strange occasion that the subjects I write on my blog come up at dinner parties.”

    LOL — ditto. When I was going through my deconversion, I had no one to talk to about it, and at the time wasn’t aware that there was online support for heretics like me. I learned very quickly that finding an online voice to share my experiences and research was the best course of action.

  15. I had no one to talk to about it either. But by the time I’d started going through my deconversion I’d been researching online. I’d found a small(much smaller than now) community of former believers who had shared their experiences. Many (not all, *waves to Zoe) of them have moved on. They either don’t blog anymore or only very occasionally. That’s good, I suppose, that they’re so busy living their lives and have moved on. On the flip side, there are still searchers. I’m glad there’s a flourishing online community for them.

  16. Victoria and Ruth – I can relate to a lot of what you are talking about here. I went through my de-conversion 19 years ago when Al Gore had just started the internet ( 😉 ), so it was tough to find communities like this online, and the newsgroups were more geared toward a bunch of fighting. Luckily I was able to find several close friends who would at least listen (but couldn’t really relate) and that helped a lot. While I have “moved on” in a lot of ways, I find the memories of the experience are always there in the background, and I also just love to talk about deep questions.

    I’m sure you would both agree that being active in this community is rewarding because it is comforting to find others who can relate, and maybe even more because we feel we can be there for others as well.

  17. Thanks Howie. I really appreciate the validation of my efforts to remain as objective as I can. I look forward to hearing more of your thoughts.

Please leave a reply - I'm very interested in all respectful thoughts both disagreeing or agreeing

